Relinquish Control

Friends,

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’ve become much more active on here as of late. Why? Well, I’m going through one of the seasons the book of Ecclesiastes mentions in chapter 3, and I’ve had a lot of things weighing on me over the past few weeks and I decided to put it all on paper. As I mentioned in my very first post, my whole point of starting this was to be an encouragement to others. We all have struggles, but just knowing that there’s someone else in the opposite corner of the country or the world going through the same difficulties as you is reassuring. I pray these words you read will encourage and push you into a stronger relationship with God, who is our comforter and our rock. Tonight, I’ll be talking about control.

Control. We all want it. We all want to drive. My motivation for writing this is simple: I want control. Lately, things in my life have fallen out of control, or so I thought, and I’ve come to realize that’s okay. In fact, it’s very good. Uncertainty about the future can be daunting. In fact, it is daunting. However, we must remember that God is in control; He works all things for good and makes it all beautiful (Ecclesiastes 3:11). I’m going through some things right now: uncertainty about relationships, sadness, general uncertainty, and feelings of anger. How are things going to work? Why did things turn out the way they did? What’s going to happen? My current struggle is trusting God. I know He’s in control and He has amazing plans for my life (Jeremiah 29:11), but for some reason, I still have trouble giving Him full control. I pray that He’ll take away the feelings of sadness and anger and doubt (1 Peter 5:7). God is higher than anything we face. ANYTHING. It’s all part of His design. It’s tough to see why things happen from ground level, or why He causes our paths to cross with certain people, but keep this in mind: God sees everything from above, and He’s working. Right now. Everything happens according to His timing, not ours.

I recognize it’s tough surrendering full control. Believe me, I completely understand. You don’t have to tell me. But when we give Him FULL control and truly start trusting in Him, that’s when we’ll begin to see His hand working and moving in our lives. God is our rock and our fortress (Psalm 144:1-2), and His will and His plans are so much higher than ours. Just ask God to come into your life and take full control. Present your requests to God (Philippians 4:6-7). Often times, our plans and His don’t align, but He’ll do things beyond our imagination (Ephesians 3:20) and He satisfies in every way possible.

I recently came across two sayings on Facebook: “I don’t know what the future holds, but I know who holds the future.” Awesome. That is incredibly true. God holds our lives in His hands; He’ll never fail us. The other saying was more of a memo: “Dear child, you worry too much. I got this, remember? – God.” How reassuring is that? God will fight for you, all we have to do is be still and trust in Him (Exodus 14:14).

Trust. Control. They don’t line up with each other that often for us. But trust that He’s in control. When we worry we don’t trust God, and when we trust God, we don’t have to worry.

Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment